Indochino Boxingday Promo

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Indochino is having one of their own promotions until December 28, for 2 free shirts with every suit purchase you can enter the coupon code boxingday. The December Collection is beginning to sell out slowly, there are now 8 suits of the originally 13 suits left. My two favourites, a brown one and two grey ones are all gone...
Let me also quickly remind you of my competition - send in your Indochino review for the chance to win a 125$ Indochino voucher - read more here.

I hope you guys all had a nice Christmas, hopefully your suits still all fit ;) I'm already looking forward to the January collection, I'm curious how quick they will be to roll out new products such as cardigans or shoes (mentioned in their own survey). In the meanwhile, there is still some interesting stuff online if you want to spend your Christmas money... I'm personally thinking about Teacher's Jacket (without the golden Rolex), the Groupon deal makes this  one quite affordable!



New coupon (20% off) and some other minor news

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Hi guys,

Thanks to Google Alerts I just heard about a new (or rather, an old but now functional again) coupon - enter woot on checkout for 20% off. Please note that this will unfortunately only works if you have a suit in your shopping bag. I wish those coupon codes would work on blazers as well... Still, I believe those 20% coupons are a much better deal than the groupon/socialliving deals if you intend to make a purchase above 500$. I don't know the expiry date on this one (yet). 

Indochino Alchemist Brown Suit
The Alchemist Brown Suit - 407$ with coupon code woot

upcoming competition
One of the outcomes of the survey I did a while ago was the wish for more reviews by other customers. As it's not so easy to get someone to go through all that hassle for free I thought about a competition. Everyone who sends in his review has the chance to win a 50$ Indochino voucher (I'd buy one of those at the Indochino website and then enter the winner's email address on it). Would it be worth your effort? I think a 50$ voucher is probably not a lot, but it would still get you a tie, cufflinks or a cheaper jacket or pants. Please let me know if that would be worth sending in your review or how I could run the competition in a better way!

Free pocket squares and [expired] Teambuy deal

Monday, December 13, 2010

Indochino Reviews: Indochino Cosmic Crimson Pinstripe Suit
Cosmic Crimson Pinstripe Suit

Indochino is offering a special promotion for their Nouveau Gentleman Collection -you now get a free pocket square (worth 39$) when you order one of the new suits. Prices remained the same and as you can see at the poll on the right side, a vast majority of 69% (29 votes as of Dec. 13) think they are a bit too high - the fabrics look great though. The whole lineup is still available but you won't receive your order before Christmas anymore.

[expired!]
Furthermore, there is still the Teambuy Canada Indochino promotion. Use teambuywinter for 15% off, 2 free shirts and 1 free accessory (thanks @dter from Twitter for the info). Pretty good deal, actually - they don't get much better than that. Careful, it expires on the 14th (not sure about which timezone - probably some Canadian time ;) )

Okay, so that teambuywinter coupon expired - next best is probably mycouponswinter (10% off, 2 free shirts, expires 28/02/11) or MYCOUPONS (20% off, expiry date unknown).

The Indochino Nouveau Gentleman Collection - Review and Guide

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Indochino Nouveau Gentleman Collection


I have to admit that I was pretty excited when Indochino announced the December Collection - especially when they told us it would consist of no less than 13 new suits, 10 new shirts, 7 new linings and a couple of new bow ties. Indochino had started a quite aggressive Groupon campaign during the last weeks (there were 125$ for 50$ deals almost every day) to clear out the old inventory except for the basics and make room for the big, new collection. 

Now, the Nouveau Collection is here! In a nutshell, their collection is focusing on 4 main aspects:
  • Heavy fabrics
    mostly heavy (300mg2) wool/cashmere blend fabrics for the winter. I looked a bit into the wool/cashmere blend topic - it seems it can give the fabric a nice shine to it. Certainly a step-up from the poly blend tweed suits. Only one of the suits contains an artificial fabric, namely The Ambient Brown 3 Piece Suit (wool/lycra blend). As usual, I'd just advice against wearing something artificial, but I'm aware there are other opinions about this too.
  • Pinstripe Suits
    12 out of 13 suits are pinstriped suits, some very subtle ones and really convincing, some really bold ones. In addition, there is one solid charcoal suit. I don't know why there are almost only pinstripe suits available, but perhaps those are the biggest sellers. Personally, I would have wished for some more plaid fabrics and yes, a Harris Tweed suit or jacket.
  • Customization Options
    Contrary to the past collections, the customization is now not about the size and style of the lapels, but just like with the Blueprint Collection, it's all about colored collar felts, different linings and pocket squares. When I tried to customize a suit just now I could not actually choose the color of the collar felt or the style of the lining, so it might be that those choices are set for each suit.
  • High prices - average 498$
    it seems the times of the 349$ suits are gone mostly. The new collection is priced on average at 497$. I have to do some more comparison, but at a first glance this looks like it's Indochino's most expensive collection so far. Of course you can reduce these costs a bit with coupon codes, but it's still not as cheap as we were used to. On the other hand, good fabrics have their price, so I am not complaining. 
An alternative title for the Nouveau Gentlemen Collection could indeed be the "Pinstripe Collection". I'm not the biggest fan of pinstripes, but Indochino focuses on giving you some pretty good overall looks, recommending a fitting shirt and tie right away. Most of the outfits actually do look pretty good.  

As usual, I do have a couple of favorites, I'll show you just three of them.

I do really dig the Ethereal Embers Pinstripe Suit - faint pinstripes, medium grey, that fabric looks very nice on the photos. Only drawback for me is the rose striped lining (that can hopefully be changed to something less "rosy"). The recommended a new red-striped shirt, a brown tie and a funky pocket square with it - looks pretty cool already. If you put that all in your shopping card you end up with 686$, luckily a coupon like couponcabin can reduce that to 510$ (still a lot of money).  The Solar Debris Pinstripe Suit is actually very similar and features a blue theme, instead of the red/rose theme of the Ember Pinstripe.

Etheral Embers Pinstripe Grey Suit
The Ethereal Pinstripe Grey Suit
Indochino Solar Debris Pinstripe Suit
The Solar Debris Pinstripe Suit
The Alchemist Brown Suit is another favourite of the current collection. Again made from a rather heavy (300mg2) wool/cashmere blend fabric, this particular suit features a golden collar felt and golden striped lining. Ok, all that gold might perhaps be a bit too much, but it looks rather brownish on the photos for the lining and the collar felt seems to be yellow. The slight sheen is quite visible on the pictures, I'm curious how that looks in real life. The suit is priced at 509$.

Indochino Alchemist Brown Suit
The Alchemist Brown Suit
Overall, I think we got a very interesting collection. I was hoping for something different - harris tweed, wool ties and things like that. I do like the fabric choices this time, but they also drive up prices quite a bit and I'm not sure how much further Indochino can go up without losing customers to cheaper competitors. I guess it's also a test for them. Furthermore, you might have gotten the invitation to their survey (interestingly with very similar questions as my survey), so you know that they plan on introducing Cardigans and perhaps even shoes (and probably more stuff we don't know about) next year, so they are definitely trying to move forward.

Just a recommendation, as they introduced quite some new shirts again - if you want to get the suggested outfit, use one of the active coupons, that helps to bring the price down quite a bit. You can find some below and some more on the Coupon Page. Check the whole new Nouveau Gentleman Collection here.

mycouponswinter (10% off, 2 free shirts, expires 28/02/11)
couponcabin (13% off, 1 free shirt, expires 30/11/10)
MYCOUPONS (20% off, expiry date unknown)


One word about the Groupon deals: if you spend a lot of money, like above 500, the 20% coupon will give you the same discount as the Groupon coupon. The more you spend, the better the 20% coupon is vs. the Groupon coupon. Similar if you want free shirts, as one is worth 89$.

If you find some time to comment, let me know what you think of the new collection, the prices and whatever comes to your mind!


Indochino Teaser: The Nouveau Gentleman Collection

Friday, December 3, 2010

Indochino Review: Indochino Nouveau Gentleman/></a></td></tr>
<tr><td class=



Just as promised yesterday via Twitter and Facebook, Indochino released the first teaser pictures for the upcoming December Collection, titled "The Nouveau Gentlemen" Collection. According to Indochino, this may be their best collection so yet - reason enough for us to be curious! The first pictures are indeed promising. The colored collar felts, first introduced in the Blueprint Collection are back and so are some interesting linings! The shirts look nice too (especially that gingham shirt), but it remains to be seen if they will be part of the collection. Grey and blue pinstripe suits seem to make for a majority of the suits, however there is also one dark blue suit visible in the teaser pictures (actually looks cool with the green collar felt). The style of the campaign is yet again a bit different - no more (half)naked models, no golden Rolex watches, no gloves - an improvement in my opinion (not that I have anything against beautiful, naked women...).

I assume we can expect the collection to go online at the beginning of the week, stay tuned for more details on the collection, prices, materials, coupon codes and everything else that matters!

Update:
The collection is going to be huge! 13 new suits, 10 new shirts, 7 new linings, new bow ties - all limited edition! Wednesday 8th of December is going to be exciting!

Indochino

Indochino

Indochino

Signup for our newsletter!

* indicates required
I'm interested in: