Indochino Review - Midnight Blue Suit

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Indochino Midnight Blue Suit Review 2017
The Outfit
Indochino Midnight Blue Suit (medium weight)
Indochino Blue Wrinkle-free Shirt
Indochino Tie
The other day I looked back at my blog and realised it's been up and running for more than 7 years now. That's a long time and I actually remember those beginnings quite well. There was a genuine excitement around this new company, promising to sell custom suits online. I decided to give them a try and the suit didn't fit that bad. There were a couple of issues in those first years. Experts actually said the Indochino guys don't know how a suit should be constructed and another blog posted helpful tips on how to get a good fit (e.g. add 2 inches in length, -0.5 inch on biceps, etc.). There was a buzz around the company, it was new, exciting and controversial. Indochino became more and more professional and today, it's a well-established player and on a whole different level. 

Indochino Midnight Blue Suit Review 2017


So, how are the suits these days? The last suit I had ordered was from a few years ago, I think in 2013 (you can see the review here). There are more recent reviews, like here on "Busted Wallet" 2016 and apparently, it was a good experience (read the review). Well, I needed a new go-to suit and decided to go for a nice navy /midnight blue suit with an "underwater scenery" lining. Personally, I don't experiment much with my suits anymore. I tend not to go overboard with options. Just because you can customise it, doesn't mean it's going to end up looking great - especially if you tick all the options.

Depending on your body (tall or short, slim or not, etc.) there are certain options that help you look better. As I have a rather long upper body, I usually order the ticket pocket. I also like to wear my jacket a little longer than is currently shown on my Indochino models. I believe it should mostly cover your bum and meet your thumb around the beginning to the middle if you let your arms hang freely. I'm also not a big fan of suit pants that sit too low. One reason is that shirts simply stay in place easier if the pants don't sit that low. Don't compare it to jeans, at least that's my approach. 

Here's what I chose:
  • Ticket pocket/waist pocket
  • Functional sleeve buttonholes
  • Functional boutonniere
  • Matching colour felt & matching buttonhole colour
  • No pleats on the trousers
  • Simple belt loops
  • Notch lapels
  • One vent (I usually go for two and actually, it's the better choice in my opinion)
  • Two buttons
Indochino Midnight Blue Suit Review 2017


The quality is really just great. It is obvious that production now happens on a different level. This is not your young start-up anymore. My new Indochino suit is simply a well-made piece, with good components. No loose buttons, no stray threads. Buttonholes are sewn very accurately. The suit doesn't feel stiff (cheap fused suits often feel stiff) and drapes well. 

Over the years, my body didn't change that much so I am still working with virtually the same set of measurements. I have adjusted a few things over time, but essentially ordering is a 5-minute process - and that's what Indochino is aiming for, once you have a working set of measurements. Of course, if you are in the US or Canada, you can now go to an Indochino store and get yourself measured by a specialist - less trouble trying to figure out how to do it right yourself. Indochino's return policy is very customer friendly. If something doesn't fit right, you can either go have it fixed at one of their stores or you can ask your local tailor and get up to USD 75 reimbursed. If that isn't possible (because either your or Indochino really messed it up) you can return it for a store credit. The remake option itself does not seem to be available anymore, but essential returning it and re-ordering on store credit is a similar option.

Indochino Midnight Blue Suit Review 2017


Both of the original founders have left the day-to-day business at Indochino and I don't think anyone would have thought the massive brick-and-mortar expansion could have been possible. Or maybe they did and it just worked out so well. In either case: there is a company that - without a very obvious equal in its field - offers great custom suits. During the years there is one thing that I found out, also while talking to other online MTM tailors. The result depends very much on your body shape. Tall and slim guys (even with weird proportions) are always easier to fit than smaller or chubby guys. 

Indochino Midnight Blue Suit Review 2017


As you can see - and hopefully agree- the suit fits really well. Looking at the pics, I realise how important collar stays really are - the way the shirt collar slightly turns up at the tips can easily be avoided. I'll have to get another set of the metal ones from Indochino, I fear I lost them over the years...

To sum up: My latest Indochino suit fits really well. Personally, I think their process just really works and production quality has improved tremendously over the past few years. This is a mature product now and it's still great value for money. There are a number of deals available, so unless you really urgently need a suit it usually pays off to just sign up for the newsletter and wait for a good deal. There is probably one available right now, you can check right here.

Indochino Midnight Blue Suit Reviewed by Lorenz Loidl. Rated: 10/10 (Excellent). A great and very versatile Indochino suit, perfect for all seasons.

Black Friday in May? All Indochino Premium suits for just USD 379

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Indochino Black Friday May 2017
Indochino Black Friday in May - Save on premium suits









Special Sale at Indochino! Black Friday is early this year, with a special sales event during the weekend. You can get all Premium Suits for just USD 379 by using the coupon code BLKMAY. Premium suits usually sell for USD 799, so indeed this is a good chance to get great fabrics for a bargain. 

Coupon Code: BLKMAY
SHOP HERE

Indochino Summer Suits from just USD 375

Thursday, May 4, 2017



Indochino is already teasing their upcoming Summer 2017 collection. The focus this year is on a slightly stretchy material. This means the suits are made of wool, with just a bit of spandex added for additional comfort. A couple of the new suits appear to be already online and can be had for quite a good price with the coupon code mentioned below. More suits, shirts, and accessories are about to be released when the full Indochino Summer 2017 Collection hits the shelves. 

Use the coupon code NEW17 to benefit from the current promotion and get even the newest suits from USD 375. 

Online now: Indochino Spring 2017 and up to 50% discount!

Saturday, February 18, 2017



















Indochino just dropped their new Spring Collection 2017 including a 5-day sale that reduces prices on the new suits and shirts by up to 50%. 

Since partnering with Dayang Group (who invested heavily in Indochino), Indochino has been working on significantly expanding their selection and the number of fabrics. As a result, you can choose from an enormous variety of patterns, colors, and materials as part of the Spring 2017 collection. Furthermore, expanding the available suit range is just a first step. As you can see from the quote below, taken from an Indochino press release, new suit silhouettes and a massive increase in the available suit personalization options can be expected as well. 
"In conjunction with the investment, INDOCHINO signed a five-year alliance agreement with Dayang Group that will enable the company to introduce three new suit silhouettes, to triple suit and shirt fabric selection, and to quadruple the range of suit personalization options for customers, both online and in its retail stores." Source: https://www.indochino.com/press/news/march-9-2016
I will be browsing through the new collection over the next couple of days and will update you with some personal selection from the vast new Spring collection. 

Coupon code: SPRING2017 for up to 50% off.

P.S.: I got a new review online, of an Indochino Midnight Blue Suit. Check it out: http://www.indochino-review.com/2017/05/indochino-review-blue-suit-2017.html

Indochino Clearance Sale - Suits from $349

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Indochino has added a couple of new items well worth checking out to their Sales page at indochino.com/sale. This is a good chance to get some the heavier autumn/winter fabrics for an excellent price or even get some of the 2016 summer fabrics in preparation for warmer weather. Among the suits are also a few premium materials. A selection of shirts is also reduced to as much as $50, making them excellent value for a custom shirt. 

Indochino Sale: http://bit.ly/2akvV8h

New coupon code: use READY to save up to 60%

Saturday, February 11, 2017

Indochino Coupon Alert Februar 2017


Indochino's strategy this year seems to be simple enough to grasp: sell as many suits as possible. What does it mean for us customers? Many, many sales and good discounts. Let's be honest here, if I look at the past couple of months, it's quite obvious that a good deal can be made pretty much every day. There is not really a big need to wait for end of season sales or black friday deals. Right now, you can save up to 60% on selected items by using the coupon code READY. 

So check out the selection and get a new suit if you are READY!

Indochino pushes retail expension

Friday, February 10, 2017

Indochino retail location. Photo via betakit.com


According to several news sources, Indochino is pushing their retail expansion in 2017. Up to 8 new showrooms will be opened in cities across the US and Canada. Retail locations are a big part of Indochino's growth strategy. Many customers prefer the in-store experience, the ability to touch fabrics and to receive help from Indochino's style guides. 
“This year, we’re almost doubling our showroom network as we focus on significantly expanding our experiential retail model,” said Drew Green, the CEO of Indochino. “As we continue to bring our unique showrooms to more cities and introduce custom clothing as an attractive and affordable alternative to ready-to-wear, we’re beginning to change the way a generation of men suit up, and that’s incredibly exciting to see.” (Source: betakit.com)

Check out current offers and the full suit selection at Indochino.com.

Indochino prolongs Black Friday

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

It seems Indochino has decided to carry on with their Black Friday/Cyber Monday sale and huge discounts are still available with the good old BLKFRI coupon code. The new sale is under the title "12 days of holiday deals". With this deal, all Indochino premium suits are also reduced to $379.

In other news, Indochino has hired a couple of new executives and is set on a very ambitious growth plan. As you may know, many more stores are expected, and Indochino is scheduled to become a dominant player in the men's fashion industry. Other plans such as more suit silhouettes and three times as many customization options were already announced for July this year by CEO Dave Green, but are not yet available on the Indochino website.

Sources:
https://www.biv.com/article/2016/12/black-friday-helps-indochinos-2016-sales-surge/
http://www.canadianbusiness.com/innovation/how-indochino-is-suiting-up-for-a-massive-retail-expansion/
http://betakit.com/indochino-announces-new-coo-and-vp-of-finance-retail-expansion-plans/