Indochino Sweepstake: Win a $400 Indochino Gift Card

Monday, December 31, 2012

Indochino is giving away a $400 gift card to celebrate 2013. Here's how to participate. Head over to their Facebook page and like and share this post. Then go over to this link and enter to win. Good luck everyone!

What would you get with the $400 voucher? I promised myself to restock on shirts, so I'd probably get a couple of the new Thomas Mason ones. 

Deal Alert: Indochino Burgundy Herringbone Suit

Friday, December 28, 2012

In addition to the premium shirt deal announced the other day, Indochino is also running the last Happy Hour deal of 2012. You can get the Burgundy Herringbone Suit for $299 instead of $399. The deal is only valid until December 30th or as long as supplies last. Use the coupon code BURGUNDYSUIT at checkout. 

Deal Alert: Indochion Boxing Day Promo

Thursday, December 27, 2012

Indochino Boxing Day Coupon

Indochino is ending 2012 with a nice deal for everyone who got some surplus Christmas money and needs custom shirts. You can get $50 ($109 instead of $159) off Indochino's premium shirts (Thomas Mason fabrics!). Just use the coupon code BOXING12 at checkout. The deal is valid until December 30th 2012.

Indochino is giving away an Essential Prince of Wales Suit

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Indochino is being generous just before Christmas and is giving away an Essential Prince of Wales Suit (that was the suit most users voted for). US and Canadian customers can enter the competition via Facebook here

Also, the latest Happy Hour Sale is still available. You can get the Checked Pink Windowpane Suit, a Tattersall shirt and the Charcoal Wool tie for only $399 (saving $148). 

Furthermore, you can also still win a Holiday Gift set by uploading a photo in your favourite Indochino outfit and get the most votes. 

Indochino Holiday Competition

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Indochino Holiday Gift Set Competition

Indochino is having a competition and I thought some of you may be interested. Click here to participate, all you have to do is share a photo of yourself or a friend in an Indochino outfit. You can then vote on the pictures and the one with the most votes wins an Indochino Holiday Gift Set. There are a couple of those holiday gift sets, not sure which one will be chosen for the winner, but actually all of them contain some pretty cool items. The contest ends on December 21st. Good luck everyone!

A couple of new Indochino suits

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Charcoal Flannel Indochino Suit
Indochino Charcoal Flannel Pinstripe Suit - $399
Indochino today released a couple of new suits. Actually, I am not entirely sure they are all completely new, I have a feeling I have seen some of them before. Nevertheless, there are a couple of interesting additions. There is one specific suit that I am interested in, because it would be a great fabric for winter. It's the Charcoal Flannel Pinstripe suit. Flannel is a quite heavy fabric, in this case 295 g/m. It's a pretty tense pinstripe version, so it's definitely not good for all occasions and makes it quite formal. On the other hand, the fabric gives it a little informality as well, so it's an interesting combination. 

I'd definitely recommend it with a simple shirt and tie (perhaps a wool tie), so you don't go overboard with the patterns. The suit is priced at $399, which is reasonable. I guess most of you have bought the suits you wanted during the Black Friday sale last month, but this could still be an interesting piece of garment. I don't believe there will be any bigger sales anymore this year, but I'd love to be wrong. If there is another sale, you can be sure to read about it here. 

I am also quite sure there will be another, bigger collection later this month. It's been a while since the last time and many suits have sold out already. 

Indochino Review: The Midnight Blue Tuxedo

Monday, November 26, 2012

Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo Review
Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo - available for $449
Sorry, it took me a while to get this review up. Not so much because of the text, but my photographer was out of the country for a while and just got back to me with the photos now. Anyway, just in time before the Black Friday Deal ends. 

The Tuxedo was something really new for me. Over here in Europe, we don't usually wear tuxedos much. You wear them for the grand Opera ball in Vienna (actually, you don't, as I found out in the comments) and other society events that I usually don't (or rather never) frequent. Still, I thought a tuxedo might be fun to have, you never know, and I thought it'd be interesting to many of you - seems it's much more widely used in the US and Canada.

I didn't want to go for a standard black one, so I thought the Midnight Blue Tuxedo might be a good alternative. I also went with the all the classic bells and whistles - shawl collar, slit pockets, no vents.  I also got the working sleeve buttons, with the last button matching the lining (burgundy). For the shirt, I decided for the studded Starched at Casino Royal Shirt ($99). It needs a couple of studs and as I had ordered the shirt with cuffs, I just went for the Tuxedo Cufflink Set ($59) to get all I needed. 

Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo Review

The bow tie was a bit of a challenge. Indochino only had the pre-tied one in black, and I thought I could do better. The only one that I thought was acceptable is the Charcoal Wool Bow Tie, but to be entirely honest, the colours do clash a bit. Getting the bow tie to look acceptable was another issue - I underestimated that. I also realised I need new shoes if I want to wear the Tux properly. I settled for a pair of plain oxford Mantorii ($309) as they now offer patent leather as well and currently run a Black Friday Sale for 20% off - will take 4 weeks before I have them, though.

Overall, I think some of the customization options were a good idea, others not so much. I feel uncomfortable without vents, even if it seems to be the standard. I think one vent (Bond) should just work better. Not sure if the contrast buttons on the sleeves are a bit over-the-top, but that's ok. I like the slit pockets, the shirt's excellent too. 

Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo Review
Would Archer approve? More importantly, would Lana? 
As for the suit and the fit: It's great overall, but it's not as perfect as I hoped it would be. The important parts are all good - shoulders and jacket length is perfect. The minor issues are nothing a local tailor can't easily fix, but I don't know why the fit is any different than on my suit before. I need to investigate a bit and see if and how my measurement profile changed. The jacket sleeves seem a bit too wide, I'll have them slimmed down. Pants from the knees down have a bit too much fabric for my taste as well. 

The colour is great, though. Needs good light to come out as blue, but it has a nice subtle sheen (95% wool, 5% cashmere) and it's not the standard black. So that's a choice I am very happy with. I hope the colour comes across well in the photos.

Info: Many people have asked about the possibility of having the lapels all satin. Below please find the official response from Indochino on that issue. Thanks to Dan for sharing it below in the comments.
"Since the release of Skyfall last October, we’ve had a LOT in interest in an all Black Satin Lapel to our Essential Midnight Blue Tux. But unfortunately it is not available with an all satin lapel at this time. The lapels are available with Satin-piping only. I’m sorry that we are unable to assist in this regard. (I’d like one with an all black Satin lapel too!). All Satin lapels are available on our Essential Dinner Jacket Tuxedo and Essential 3 Piece Tuxedo."
To get back to my suit, overall, I think there are not many things that can go wrong with an Indochino purchase for me. My measurements are pretty much done, I still change around minor things sometimes, and it seems Indochino does some changes or at least it's never 100% the same. But overall, it's just click and order for me now. I can also tell that they are constantly improving, it's not always the obvious things, but having proper Bemberg lining, nicely done shoulders, etc. is just really really a good sign, and I am sure there is more to come. 

Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo Review
It seems bluer here because of the strong light from the side.
You can get the Indochino Premium Midnight Blue Tuxedo for $649 right here:
Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo or if not available, check out the full Indochino Tuxedo lineup.

Indochino Midnight Blue Tuxedo Reviewed by Lorenz Loidl. Rated: 9/ 10 (Excellent) A Tuxedo should be part of every man's wardrobe. The midnight blue tuxedo is a great alternative to the black ones.

Black Friday Deal Alert: Get 30% off all orders over $700

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Indochino Black Friday Coupon Deal 2012

There is a good reason why many of us are curiously waiting for Black Friday to arrive: we know there will be a proper Indochino deal coming up. Of course, it's always tempting to buy full price, especially when new collections sell out quickly. However, if you are a bit of a gambler, it does make sense to wait for these occasions. 

This years deal is in fact the same as 2011, which is not a bad thing at all. Use the coupon code BLACKFRIDAY12 to get 30% off all orders over $700. Which means if you get things worth $701, you will only pay $490.7 and save $210.3 in the process.

There are a couple of strategies that may make sense. If you want to spend as little as possible, you should make sure to achieve a total before discount not much above $700. If you don't mind spending a little extra, it's easier. 

Let's take a look at some of the options:

Indochino Starter Package (lowest total cost of $491.4 after discount)
Indochino Black Friday Deal 2012
Note: if you want to go for another suit for $399 instead of $379, leave out the pocket square and add another pair of collar stays. 

Total sum before discount: $702
Total sum after discount: $491.4 ($210.6 saved = 30% off)

Indochino Winter Luxury Package (total cost of $946.4 after discount)
Total sum before discount: $1.352
Total sum after discount: $946.4 ($405.6 saved = 30% off)

Other Notable Coupons:
Upcoming online shoemakers Mantorii Custom Footwear are having a Black Friday Deal as well, they are giving 20% off all orders. Use the coupon code BF2012 if you want to complement your custom suit with a pair of great custom shoes (valid until November 27th).

Thomas Mason fabrics and the impressive development of Indochino

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Indochino is developing quickly. Just a few days ago, they introduced Thomas Mason fabrics for their shirts. Only a few years ago, the Indochino guys themselves didn't really know if their fabrics were wool or polyester. They sold their suits below $300 and talking about Reda or Thomas Mason fabrics would have been inconceivable. I remember readers were already protesting loudly when there was no coupon for a free shirt, a free tie and 20% off available for a few weeks - and I agreed with them, back then. 

How things have changed. Look at Indochino today: digital cutting, professional pop-up stores, Reda fabrics, suits that sell for $600 (Vincero Line) and now Thomas Mason shirts for $149. That company is developing fantastically. They surely lost a number of their bargain seeking clientele along the way, but they successfully tapped into new customer groups, willing to pay more. 

There have been a couple of major improvements that are perhaps not that obvious, but still very much worth mentioning, especially when you compare it to just a few months ago.
  1. All linings are now made of Bemberg. Previously, Bemberg lining has been only available for the Vincero line. In the normal suits, the lining used to be polyester until a few weeks ago! A big improvement, Bemberg is a far more breathable fabric and just much higher quality.
  2. BWF collar felts on all suits. Again, this is a major improvement.
  3. Real bullhorn buttons. A bit of a grey area before, at least for me. Clearly declared as bullhorn now.
  4. Helsa shoulder pads from Germany. Not sure what was used before, but Helsa has a really good name in the industry. Indochino's shoulders were always a bit of a problematic area, but this should really be solved now.
  5. Construction. Now using Freudenberg components (I guess the interlining). Well, this is a little bit more tricky. Remember Indochino uses their own kind of method, somehow between fusing and half-canvas. Well, it is still unique and now - I am sure the components are of good quality, but why not offer a proper full canvas upgrade? They also mention the construction is lighter now, there have been some issues reported on the forum lately about just that (thread 1, thread 2).
Together with the most recent overhaul of their website, they are without a doubt the major player in the online MTM tailor business by a very long stretch. The website has two main new parts:

Indochino Suits:
Learn everything about how Indochino works, their fabrics, customisation options nicely visualised and much more.

Indochino Shirts:
Same for shirts, go through the customisation options, check how the monogram will look like - really well done.

The shirt bundle deal is still available and now it an altered version also applicable to the shirts. Use SHIRTBUNDLES at checkout to get two premium shirts for $269 or three regular shirts for $229. Also, watch out for a Black Friday sale, I hear they have something nice in store for everyone this year. 

What do you think about the new shirts and the general development of Indochino?

Mantorii Custom Footwear Review - The Verdict

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Mantorii Review

Update: Mantorii now has official product photos online here.

I promised to publish a review of Mantorii, so here we go. For the introduction, please go here. I was a kind of beta-tester for Mantorii. They had their prototypes ready and wanted to have at least one review up for their launch, so they made me an Oxford toe cap (I specified it using a PDF, the website now is much nicer). It arrived within 3 weeks for me, luckily also without any extra tax to pay.

The Looks:
The shoes look great, I like the design, just what I wanted. Classic yet elegant shape with nicely rounded toes. Not too pointy, definitely not square. I like them like that. Heel size is just right as well, soles are nicely and carefully made. It's always a sign of quality if the edges of the sole have been smoothened to the shape of the shoe. All the stitchings seem flawless, there is nothing on the shoe that was done in a sloppy way.

The leather inside is black, something that will be switched to tan leather by default for production shoes. I think brown leather and black lining doesn't go that well together, but then it's true I had a prototype version of the shoe. 

The Feel:
I have very sensitive heels, I don't get blisters anywhere else, but usually I get them on the heels with virtually every shoe I buy. My Mantorii shoes did need some breaking in as well, but I did it carefully, wearing them only in my flat for a couple of hours every day. The fit was rather tight, but spot on right from the start. I have a pair of proper shoe trees that I put in after wearing. After a few days, I felt comfortable enough to wear them for my daily job.

I've been wearing it frequently for the last 2 weeks or so and the sole has held up very well - even though the weather was wet and cold. There is actually no real damage on it, I just didn't bother to clean the sole, so you get a real picture. Some of my RTW shoes looked worse after a few weeks. By the way, I only have the single leather sole, but on my model the thread is not visible, I heard they decided to leave it visible for the production models.

The leather held up equally well, no scratches so far. There are a few wrinkles that I like, it adds personality to the shoe.

Mantorii Sole
Sole holds up well, even in wet and cold climates
The Shoemaker gives his opinion:
The real test for me was to bring the shoes to a local shoemaker. That's also the reason why I'm a bit late with this review. The guy has his workshop just around the corner from where I live and a nice showroom in the city. His workshop doesn't look like anything special, but the guy sure knows his trade. Apart from doing his own custom and RTW shoes, he is also working as a cobbler. I brought my Mantorii shoes over to have him examine the leather and the construction method. 

At the beginning, I wasn't sure if that's a good idea. From experience I know that for example local tailors love to bash online competitors and obviously a reason for that is also  because they perceive them as a threat. The shoemaker was different. He said the shoe was constructed solidly (Goodyear welts) with great attention to the details. He also confirmed it would be no problem to resole the shoe, if necessary. When I told him the price he couldn't believe it and said he was happy not more people knew about it.

Mantorii Review
A well proportioned shoe
The Verdict:
Overall, a very convincing product for a great price. If you want custom shoes without spending +$1000, you should consider giving Mantorii a try. They have to streamline and improve some parts of their shopping experience (show more photos of real shoes, for example) but the product is good and they seem to be a very dedicated team.

What I think helps them a lot, is that their company may be very new, but their shoemaker has been in the business for decades. I am sure that sped up product development and they have the advantage of selling a product that has already proven itself over many years.

I hope they will also expand their collection to boots and other essential footwear such as loafers soon. Would love to get some half-brogue boots for winter, for example.

Mantorii Construction
Great attention to detail
Mantorii Custom Footwear Oxford Cap Toe
10 out of 10
By Lorenz Loidl

Guest Review: The Bootlegger Blue Tweed Suit by Sam Brown

Saturday, November 10, 2012

Indochino Review
Bootlegger Blue Tweed Suit
By Sam Brown (follow him on Twitter)

Excitement, confusion, frustration, impatience, anticipation, and complete satisfaction accurately describe my emotions during the process of ordering my first Indochino suit.

I had just purchased a coupon through for a suit, shirt, and tie of my choice when Indochino released the Deco Collection. The nod to the 1920’s was a look that appealed to me so I was eager to place an order; however I wanted to get a closer look at the material so I purchased one of Indochino’s Tailor’s kits.

Deal Alert: Indochino Trenchcoats for $179 instead of 279$

Friday, November 9, 2012

Great Happy Hour Deal - save $100 on trench coats
A very decent Friday Happy Hour deal from Indochino this week - Trenchcoats go for $179 instead of $279. I have the blue one and like it a lot - very short review here. As usual, quantities are limited and at this price I think the last ones will be gone soon.

In other news, I have a review of the Blue Sharkskin suit coming up (submitted by a user), the Midnight Blue Tux photos should be ready soon, the Mantorii review is coming along well, the interview with Indochino's Product Manager is still planned as well. You see, lots of exciting things happening!

Introducing Mantorii Custom Footwear - Affordable Custom Shoes

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Mantorii Custom Footwear
My Mantorii Shoe - an Oxford Cap Toe (also featured on Mantorii's website!)
Sometimes there are new companies that really excite me. Needless to say Indochino is one of those, so are ProperSuit, Black Lapel and a few others. I was recently introduced to a newcomer that immediately caught my attention.

Let me introduce Mantorii Custom Footwear. Mantorii is the brainchild of Aron, a sartorially inclined Hungarian Stanford graduate, who spent years working for a big multinational before founding his own company in Asia, doing sourcing, consulting and factory audits. Aron has always had a deep love for shoes and had been sending around shoes from his favourite shoemaker in Vietnam to friends around the world for quite a while. Not long ago he decided to use his previous work experience and take the business online: Mantorii Custom Footwear is the result.

Deal Alert: Indigo Blazer and Water Lilies Shirt for 329$

Friday, November 2, 2012

Indochino has a special sale today, you can get the Superhero Indigo Blazer and Amazon Gray Water Lilies (yes, that's the name) together for 329$ (sorry, the initially reported 299$ turned out to be a miscommunication on Indochino's side, it's corrected now). Quite a specific deal, but hopefully interesting to some. Just head over to the Happy Hour Sale page to find the two items and apply the coupon BLAZERCOMBO at checkout.

In other news, I didn't get enough time to finish the interview questions for the upcoming interview with Crystal, Indochino's Product Marketing Manager, but I will do that on the weekend. Look out for the interview soon. Also, I got my Indochino Tux and will review it next week.

Forum Competition: And the winner is...

Thursday, October 25, 2012

Guys, thanks all for signing up for the forum and posting. We've got some great threads going already and I'm looking forward to more. The 150$ voucher goes to user "rnjbond", I have also contacted him via PM over on the forum.

For those who don't know yet, this is the link:

By the way, coming up is a review of The Midnight Blue Tuxedo. The tux should arrive by next week and I hope the review will be up a week after that. 

Giveaway: 150$ voucher for

Monday, October 22, 2012

Some of you may have already seen it, I have started a forum at and many of you are already using it. I want to promote it a bit and thought about doing a quick competition. 

I have a voucher for worth 150$ and I will give it away to members of the forum. So everyone who registers AND posts (no spamming) from now till Wednesday (24th of October) is participating. Existing forum members will participate automatically. 

Good luck!

Indochino Deal Alert: Raincoat for 199$ instead of 299$

Friday, October 12, 2012

Indochino Raincoat
Indochino Raincoat - 199$ instead of 299$
Just a quick deal alert, the friday happy hour this weeks brings you the Superhero Titanium Shield Raincoat for 199$ instead of 299$. In other news, watch out for an upcoming interview with Crystal, Indochino's Product Marketing Manager. 

Introducing the Indochino-Review Forum

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Lots of the discussion on this blog is happening in the comments and that's a good thing. However, very often there are general questions and they often disappear among other comments or don't get answered because they don't belong to the subject of the article. I've decided to start a forum to provide a platform for all these topics that don't belong in the comments and hope it will be accepted and used. 

It's going to take a while to get busy, I am sure of that. I will also do my best to keep it active. Let's call this a beta-test and see if it works. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Indochino-Review Forum:

Deal Alert: Friday Happy Hour Trenchcoats for 179$ instead of 279$

Thursday, September 27, 2012

The Indochino Trenchcoat - 179$ instead of 279$
To celebrate 60.000 fans on Facebook, Indochino has just released a happy hour deal. You can get a trenchcoat for 179$ instead of 279$. While the trenchcoats are not warm enough for winter, they are excellent for autumn and rainy days. I got one last in spring and been wearing it quite frequently.

Friday Happy Hour Deal - Trenchcoats for 179$ instead of 279$

Free Suit Competition - The Lucky Winners

Saturday, September 22, 2012

Thank you everyone for participating in the competition! I've randomly selected the winners of the three prices. Winners, please contact me at to claim your coupons. 

1 - Winner of the Indochino suit, shirt and tie

Matthew Karmel

2 - Winner of the 80$ Ministry of Style voucher

Justin Cabo

3 - Winner of the 80$ Ministry of Style voucher 

Norm Wong

Introducing the Indochino Deco Collection and your chance to win a free Indochino suit!

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Indochino Deco Collection Fall 2012 Review
The new Twilight cast? No, the Indochino Deco Collection 2012.
Yes, long title, but there is also a lot to talk about. It's been a while since Indochino's last big collection, but now it is here and it's a big one. The Deco Collection consist of 14 new suits & blazers, 2 coats, 8 shirts, finally and just at the right time, 6 wool ties and a couple of glittery accessories. 

Indochino Traveling Tailor San Francisco and more good news

Monday, September 3, 2012

Indochino Traveling Tailor Chicago
Traveling Tailor Chicago - thank you Woolly Llama for the photo
The Traveling Tailor event in Chicago a while ago was widely successful and got great reviews all over the internet. Even Jeffrey Diduch, bespoke tailor, blogger and Styleforum regular checked out the event and wrote about it on his excellent blog. He also added some great photos and will review the suit he ordered later on. It's going to be very interesting what he thinks about the craftsmanship and fit.

Here is a first hand account of the Traveling Tailor event from reader Matt Hucke:
I was there, at Union Station, in the same room where they filmed the baby carriage scene in "The Untouchables". The entire process took about thirty minutes. 
First, I was measured, then tried on trousers in standard sizes in portable changing booths they had set up. This mostly went well, except that the consultant seriously misunderestimated my size, and I ended up proceeding through five pairs of trousers before getting to the one that fit. 
Next I was given over to the style consultant, who first showed me the swatches of fabric so I could choose which product line to go with. I chose the "essential" rather than "exclusive", liking the feel and of that one better. We then went through the steps to order a charcoal, double-breasted suit with lots of bells and whistles. (I told him I was interested in the "Roger Sterling" look, but he was unfamiliar with the character!) 
Finally, we assembled a custom shirt - they had about twenty patterns/colours to choose from. I gave my credit card info, and received the cufflinks+tie kit. By the time I got home, the order had appeared on my account on their web site. 
So, the ordering process is quick, painless, and well worth the trip downtown. I had to pay $30 to park in the Loop but the free shirt makes up for that. 
Now we'll have to see how well the suit fits when it arrives. They tell me I have a $75 alteration credit, and I already have a local tailor picked out for the work, if needed.
San Francisco is up next, here are the details for the location, more details are right on

710 Market St.
San Francisco, California
September 18-23
8:00 am to 8:00 pm 

Again, Indochino is also hiring Fashion Stylists/Sales Associates for this event, find more details here and good luck with your application.

Upcoming Competition - win Indochino suit, shirt and tie
In other news, I have acquired a voucher from thedailyhookup for a suit, shirt and tie. A lot of you guys used my referral link so I had enough store credit for the deal. As promised I will give it away for free on the blog, will just have to think on how to do it best. I will most likely time it with the upcoming Indochino September Collection, so stay tuned for more details.

[Deal Alert] Indochino Labor Day Sale - Get up to 150$ off

Friday, August 31, 2012

Just in time for the upcoming labor day, Indochino has released some great deals. A number of suits are now up to 150$ off, all of them seem to be selling very quickly. Good luck!

Update: Reduced suits are almost sold out, but a number of blazers down at 150$ remain!

New Indochino Outerwear Collection

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Indochino Outerwear Coats

While some of us might still be enjoying the hot summer sun, Indochino is already thinking and released a number of new outerwear items yesterday. 

There are now three new coats:
  • Peacoats in 4 colors (Camel, Navy, Charcoal, Black)
  • Military coats in 4 colors (see above) and
  • Topcoats (4 colors again)
These coats differ in length and style, but do have some common features. They can all be ordered as single- or double-breasted, with or without belt and with an inside loop to hang your scarf.  Of all the new coats, only the Topcoats are long coats, the others approximately have the length of suit jackets. Fabrics are a blend of wool (90% or 95%, depending on the product) and cashmere. The coats also feature a quilted lining for extra insulation.

(expired) Indochino Deal Alert: get 40% off on

Monday, August 20, 2012

The Daily Hookup currently has a nice deal for Indochino, you get 1 Essential Suit, 1 shirt and 1 tie for 320$, that is 40% off the face value. For those wondering, this is probably as good as it gets. The only better deals are short-term sales of of suits from previous collections, the Essential Suits are normally not discounted. You can also get a more expensive suit, but you have to pay the difference. Please consider that once the deal is over, a new Indochino collection is likely to be introduced.

The Daily Hookup Indochino Deal
(This is a referral link, meaning I get 11$ if you buy the deal and it is your first purchase on Daily Hookup. In case I get enough referral credits, I will buy the deal myself and give away the coupon on the blog, as usual)

Important Update: this deal is actually not geographically restricted, according to a comment from The Daily Hookup CEO Josh Meah (see comments below this post). International customers can email for more info. 

Indochino Review: The double-breasted blue pinstripe superhero suit

Monday, August 13, 2012

Indochino double-breasted suit review

A few weeks ago, I was sorting through my wardrobe and discovered that all my suits are similar in certain ways. They are all 2-button suits, come with 2 vents and have notch lapels. Time for something special.

Indochino Traveling Tailor coming to Chicago

Friday, August 3, 2012

After stops in Canada, Indochino will open their first pop-up store in the US from August 14 - 20. The chosen city is Chicago and a number of other major cities seem to be on the roadmap for the near future (details tbc). As a special goodie, Indochino will hand out suit utility kits with every suit purchase on site, it contains a black tie, cuff links, a tie bar and a white pockets square. At previous traveling tailor events, a free shirt was added to your purchase. If you are lucky you might also get some special fabrics that are not available online.

By the way, in case you don't have any other plans and you are interested in men's fashion, Indochino is still looking for staff for this event:

The Great Hall 
Chicago Union Station
210 South Canal Street
Chicago, Illinois

Coming Soon: A Review of the double-breasted Indochino Superhero Pinstripe Suit

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Indochino superhero double-breasted blue pinstripe suit
(right out of the box)
Indochino Superhero Blue Pinstripe Suit
Superhero Navy & Red Diagonal Striped Tie
The Quick Getaway Gray Striped Shirt
Small Silver Tie Clip
Full review coming soon!

Update: Indochino Measurements page now shows true garment measurements

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

I was writing about the changes on the measurement page some users have experienced yesterday. Thanks for your comments, I have also received info from Indochino about what actually happened.

Let me quote Chris, one of Indochino's concierges:
"We recently overhauled our back-end database to display customer account histories under the true garment measurements, rather than the physical measurements that were displayed before."
This is actually a pretty good thing, once you know what's going on. The measurements you originally take for your suit are translated into a digital pattern. After you received your suit you will have a base to work on and adjust your digital pattern according to your preferences. The digital pattern measurements now don't show what you had originally input, they show the true garment measurements. This makes it easier to determine the changes you need and makes the whole process more transparent.

So, if you see the measurements changed, there is no need to be concerned. Your suit should still fit fine (especially if it's not your first order and you got your measurements figured out) and if you still need to change something, it's easier to do so.

Indochino's Digital Cutting may result in measurement changes

Monday, July 30, 2012

Indochino Measurement Page
As you may know, Indochino has recently invested heavily to introduce digital cutting and digital patterns. This is an important step to reduce inconsistency issues on repeat orders. This also means that your previous profile had to be translated into a digital pattern and thus, a couple of measurements may now have changed. 

It so happens that for me some measurements seem completely wrong and not representing what I measured, e.g. my chest measurement is now 41.5" compared to 38" originally. I guess we will see how that impacts my most recent order, a double-breasted pinstripe suit. 

Previously, Indochino always suggested not to panic and submit changes based on the garment. I will do so, but I would like to finally have a working profile that doesn't get changed around in the background. 

Not sure if all customers got their profile switched to digital patterns already, but does anyone else have completely different measurements suddenly?

[SOLD OUT] Indochino Deal Alert: Steve Nash Brown Nailhead and Charcoal 200$ off

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Steve Nash Brown Nailhead Suit - now 299$ instead of 499$
Update: Both deals seem to be sold out now!

The deal has just been released from Indochino on Twitter and is only valid for a limited time and for as long as stock lasts. 200$ off means you get the Steve Nash Brown Nailhead Suit for 299$ instead of 499$ when using coupon code NASHBROWNNAIL on checkout.

Furthermore, the same applies to the
Steve Nash Charcoal Suit, also 299$ instead of 499$ with coupon code NASHCHARCOAL.

[expired] Indochino Deal Alert: Essential Suit, Shirt and Tie for 319$ at Vente Privee

Saturday, July 7, 2012

New Indochino Vincero suits and Vente Privee Deal
New Indochino Vincero Suits - can also be had with Ventee Privee Deal (difference between Vincero and Essential suit to be paid at checkout)
Thanks to the anonmyous user sharing the deal with us in a comment over at the coupon section, I can inform you about a new deal up at Vente Privee (deal website similar to Groupon etc.). You can get an Essential Suit, a shirt and a tie for 329$ instead of 527$, that is a discount of 211$ or almost 38%. You can also choose a more expensive suit and pay the difference to the Essential line at checkout. Pretty good deal this time, unfortunately you will need a US address (I guess any valid one will do) to sign up for the deal. If you managed to buy it, you can use the coupon no matter where you live - Indochino doesn't care, the restriction is on Vente Privee's side.

By the way, there are also a couple of new suits from their premium Vincero Line (Reda fabrics, Bemberg lining, etc.). 

Suit, shirt and tie for 329$ instead of 527$ (valid until July 10, 2012)

Indochino Deal Alert: 3 shirts for 229$

Friday, June 29, 2012

Indochino Shirt Sale Coupon June 2012

Indochino is having a shirt sale again, this time it's 3 shirts for 229$. This means one shirt actually costs 76$, down from the usual 99$ per shirt. Not a bad sale, but not an excellent one either. Might be a nice chance to snap up some of those chambray shirts though.

Use SHIRTBUNDLE at checkout to apply the discount. 

Introducing the Indochino Superhero Collection 2012

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Indochino Superhero Collection 2012
Indochino Superhero Collection - Suits from 429$
The Superhero Collection. I think a lot of Indochino fan are, at least to some degree (including myself), geeks. And the superhero theme clearly caters towards the geek niche. Sure, not everyone who buys Indochino suits is a young geek straight out of college. However, that's not the point. Indochino releases new collections every other month, it's only logical that not every collection gets the approval of each and every customer.

[expired] Indochino Deal Alert: 3 free accessories on orders over 500$

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Indochino Father's Day Promo Coupon 2012 3 free accessories
Indochino father's day promo - pic nicked from Indochino's email newsletter
Indochino is having a father's day promo. Until Sunday, June 17th you get 3 accessories for free if you shop for at least 500$. Use the coupon code FATHERSDAY2012 at checkout (accessories need to be placed in shopping card before applying the coupon). 

It is not the best of coupons, but it makes sense if you were thinking about buying a suit and shirt  anyway. Indochino's accessories are rather high priced, so this is not a bad chance to get some of the nice ones. There are a couple of possible combinations, I got the below mentioned items on a recent order and can recommend them. 

Suggested accessories:
  • Knit Ties(39$, Navy and White striped or Navy and Blue striped)
  • Small Silver Tie Clip (39$, this one is actually not too big for their ties)
  • Reversible Brown Belt (79$, length according to your measurements)  

Indochino Review: Modern Navy Linen & Wool Suit

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Indochino Linen Suit Review
Indochino Modern Navy Linen & Wool Suit - 379$
Indochino Ultimate Utility Shirt - 79$

Indochino Navy & Gold Striped Silk Knit Tie - 49$
Indochino Monogram Pocket Square - 29$
I finally received my Modern Navy Linen suit last week, just in time for the really hot weather. The fabric is a blend of wool and linen and it's actually really effective. The suit is cool and light, but doesn't wrinkle very much. Used it twice last week and all I needed to do to get rid of the few wrinkles was to hang it in the steamy bathroom. Definitely read for business, even as a linen suit. Fit is really good, but it's worth mentioning I had to get a remake on the jacket. My profile was switched to a digital pattern and that caused some troubles with the measurements (waist was suddenly 4 inches smaller) - all sorted out now, once and for all, I hope.

I decided to basically copy the outfit of the model Indochino uses and ordered the Navy & Gold Striped Knit Tie as well. It's slimmer and thinner than I thought it'd be, but it does fit nicely with the blue suit and a plain white shirt. Remember to keep knit ties rolled and don't hang them like normal ties - the material would stretch. As for the suit, I went for a pretty standard one as I will mainly wear it on the job. 2 vents, 2 buttons, notch lapels - perhaps the only thing special is the ticket pocket. Thinking about getting that Brown Linen suit too now...

P.S. The Modern Navy Linen Suit seen in the picture above was part of a limited collection. It may not be available anymore under the exact name and availability of linen suits may be limited to summer months. 

[sold out] Indochino Deal Alert: Suit, Shirt and Tie for 320$ at Thrillist

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Indochino Modern Linen Suits
The Indochino Modern Linen Collection - now for 320$ incl. shirt and tie instead of 379$ just for the suit
Just in time for Father's Day, Indochino and Thrillist teamed up to offer a deal on Indochino suits. You can basically get a suit, a shirt and a tie for 320$, that's 39% off the face value of these items. Covered are only the suits for 379$, you can choose a more expensive one too and pay the difference. 

The deal is quite alright, essentially you get a tie and a shirt for free and the suit a bit cheaper. Could be a nice occasion to get one of those Modern Linen Suits, a nice white shirt and a knit tie. The offer ends on June 19th, 2012 and I believe it's only valid for people in the US. You will have to use the coupon within 1 month.

Update: The deal is now sold out!

Here is a link to the deal on Thrillist:

More on the Indochino Linen Collection 2012: 

Indochino's new summer suits 2012 - Seersucker

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Indochino Seersucker Suit and Blazer

Indochino introduced a couple of new suits and blazers today, the focus is on seersucker, a light striped summer fabric with history. The word seersucker originates from the old Persian words "shir o shekar", which translates into "milk and sugar", describing the feel (smooth and rough) of the fabric. The fabric is naturally wrinkly, due to the specific weaving process.

Indochino Twitter Contest - Win a free suit

Monday, May 14, 2012

Lifehacker is currently running a story on online MTM tailors and readers get a chance to vote for their personal favorites. Interestingly enough, Indochino is currently only on place 2, right behind Black Lapel (who just created a big buzz by outfitting Jeremy Lin). 

Needless to say, Indochino wants to come out as the winner and just now they have started a Twitter campaign. If you retweet a message (and cast your vote) you can win an Indochino suit. Black Lapel has also activated their followers via Facebook and Twitter, so let's see who comes out first at the end!

Indochino Twitter Competition:

Indochino Coupon Alert: get 20% off on shirts and accessories

Friday, May 11, 2012

Good news, there is an Indochino coupon available again. If you buy 2 shirts and 2 accessories, you get 20% off. Offer already expires on Sunday, May 13th.

Buy 2 shirts and 2 accessories and get 20% off
2AND2 (expires Sunday, May 13th)

Introducing Indi Custom Jeans

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Indi Custom Jeans Review
INDi Custom Jeans - from 175$
Update: It seems Indi Custom has disappeared. I actually liked the concept, but I think the prices were maybe too high and clearly, not enough customers could be convinced to buy a custom jeans.

We got plenty of companies to supply us with MTM suits and shirts, but what about more casual custom clothes? Jeans comes to mind and as it turns out, there is already a successful company named Indi Custom doing just that. Indi Custom makes jeans for both men and women with prices starting at 170$ a pair.

Indochino introduces cutaway collars on all shirts

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Cutaway collar from Indochino

Many of us have been waiting for it: the cutaway collar. Indochino only offered the wide-spread collars for a while, but they weren't really all that wide spread. Today, the cutaway collar has been added to the list of customization options for shirt. According to Esquire, cutaway collars are ideal for "tall, wiry or [...] triangular faces". Please also note that because you'll have more room for a bigger tie knot, you might want to go for a bigger Windsor instead of a small four-in-hand. You can check for advice on which collar goes with which face shape and tie knot on Indochino: right when you select the collar style, you can also select to "view gallery". 

In addition to the new collar styles, a number of grey shirts have been added to the lineup. I'm not a big fan of them, as far as shirts are concerned, I am sticking to blue and white when it comes to solid colored shirts. Might just be me. 

Indochino Adventurer Blue Trenchcoat Review

Friday, April 27, 2012

Indochino Adventurer Blue Trenchcoat
Indochino Adventurer Blue Trenchcoat - 279$
When Indochino introduced their Spring Collection in March 2012, I knew there were a couple of things that had to become part of my wardrobe. I had had an eye on knit ties and chambray shirts for a couple of years already, but somehow never pulled the trigger on any of those. I saw my big chance now and ordered 2 of the chambray shirts, a golden/blue knit tie, a belt and a trenchcoat. Especially the trenchcoat was quite a bit of a risk, I knew the measurements for the suits, but wasn't sure if the outerwear measurements would work.

Double-breasted suits now available at Indochino

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Indochino double-breasted suit

Long awaited, Indochino today finally re-introduced (they used to have that feature in 2009) double-breasted suits. The option is available on all suit jackets and blazers and you can choose it during the customization process (at the same step where you select the number of buttons for yours suit). Should work great with their new Linen Collection

Get ready for the summer - The Indochino Modern Linen Collection

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Indochino 2012 Linen Suits - 379$ each
Long awaited by many, Indochino today released one of the most important collections of the year: the 2012 Linen Collection, dubbed the Modern Linen Collection. Indochino or rather, their creative mastermind and co-founder Heikal Gani, tried a new approach to linen and created a special fabric, consisting of 25% linen and 75% wool. What does this mean for you?